Skip to content

Hahndorf Hill Winery, Australia – Larry Jacobs

February 9, 2012

We live in the Adelaide Hills wine region which is not only a beautiful and pristine environment, but is also a region that has huge environmental importance to the city of Adelaide since it is the vital watershed for the city and its inhabitants.

I experimented with organic farming for a while but then got drawn into the biodynamic movement. The biodynamic system gets me in touch with a more spiritual side of farming rather than just the commercial / chemical side of this industry.

Weed control in the vineyard without the use of herbicides has been a huge obstacle. I was pretty determined not to embrace the common practice of under-vine cultivation to get rid of the weeds as I am convinced that this practice is very destructive to the soil structure and organisms. I eventually decided to rather embrace the ‘weeds’ and grasses.  I’m very happy with the balance in the vineyard now that I have implemented my new practices.

website:  www.hahndorfhillwinery.com.au

From → Interviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

