Skip to content

Azienda Agricola Elisabetta Foradori, Italy – Elisabetta Foradori

April 19, 2012

Why do you do what you do?  I do what I do for passion and because I want people to share my passion when they open a bottle of Foradori. I also do things in a certain way because I want to give to the generation following me a healthy environment and a soil that is alive, like my father and grandfather gave to me.

How do you do it?  I try to understand nature. I think the best way to understand the process of life is by working in the vineyards and by observing the rhythm of nature. Biodynamic agriculture helped me to understand a bit more this rhythm.

What obstacles have you overcome? In the vineyard we do not have enemies or diseases. It is a question of equilibrium. A disease is a leak of equilibrium, if we are able to find the balance of the plant, we will not have big problems. Our enemies are not mildew, or botrytis; our biggest problem is the state and the bureaucracy that we have to face each day.

What disasters have you survived?  We make errors every year. We cannot avoid errors; the most important thing is to avoid the same error twice. Until now we’ve had no real disaster. We are in a region with great climatic conditions, which helps us a lot.

Are you happy with this work?  I am very happy with my work, but I think it is the first step of a long path. We started with biodynamics in 2002 and I am seeing the first results in the wines of 2009. We still have a lot to improve.

Is it worth the effort? Yes. It is good for our wines, for the environment, financially and it is an experience which gives us a lot of intellectual stimuli. Biodynamics is a never ending process, it changes like the processes in nature change and we have to understand them.

The biggest difficulty of biodynamics is not the agricultural part; the big challenge is the act of transformation from juice into wine. The work in the cellar is the biggest intervention in the whole process. It is very hard to bring out the true and pure expression of the grape, soils and microclimate, without destroying what nature did.

Photos by Andrea Scaramuzza

website: www.elisabettaforadori.com

 

From → Interviews

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

